ECIA National Guidelines for Best Practice

ECIA's National Guidelines for Best Practice in Early Childhood Intervention enable practitioners across Australia, no matter where they operate from, to access the latest research and advice on disability support for young children.

ECI practitioners can use these guidelines as a framework for excellence in service delivery, and to help prepare for the NDIS rollout. They will be supplemented with practical tools being developed by ECIA over coming months.

At the core of the guidelines are four quality areas, underpinned by the eight key best practices:

Quality Area 1: Family

  • Family-centered and Strengths-based Practice
  • Culturally Responsive Practice

Quality Area 2: Inclusion

  • Inclusive Participatory Practice
  • Engaging the Child in Natural Environments

Quality Area 3: Teamwork

  • Collaborative Teamwork Practice
  • Capacity-Building Practice

Quality Area 4: Universal Principles

  • Evidence Base, Standards, Accountability and Practice
  • Outcome-Based Approach

Released in April 2016, the guidelines were developed following two years of consultation with ECI service providers and government.

Download the guidelines